## Ryoji Noyori Prize sponsored by Takasago International Corporation

and administered by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

*Ryoji Noyori Prize,* sponsored by Takasago International Corporation, was established in 2002 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) in commemoration of Professor Ryoji Noyori's winning of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as well as the 60th anniversary of SSOCJ.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize outstanding contributions to research in asymmetric synthetic chemistry defined in its broadest sense.

The Prize, which consists of a certificate, a medallion, and \$10,000, is bestowed every year to a recipient meeting the above mentioned criteria. The International Prize Committee selects a recipient, and the recipient shall deliver a prize lecture at the annual general meeting of SSOCJ at which the Prize will be presented.

The Winner of the Prize for the award year 2014 is Dieter Enders, Seniorprofessor RWTH Aachen University, Germany.

*Professor Enders* is a pioneer in the field of asymmetric synthesis. He has developed first broadly applicable chiral auxiliaries, such as SAMP/RAMP and demonstrated their efficiency in numerous natural product syntheses. He also established the field of asymmetric carbon - carbon bond formations catalyzed by *N*-heterocyclic carbenes and made seminal other contributions to the field of organocatalysis.



The past recipients:

Henri B. Kagan (2002) Gilbert Stork (2003) Dieter Seebach (2004) Tsutomu Katsuki (2005) David A. Evans (2006) Tamio Hayashi (2007) Andreas Pfaltz (2008) Yoshio Okamoto(2009) Eric N. Jacobsen (2010) Hisashi Yamamoto(2011) Masakatsu Shibasaki (2012) Barry M. Trost(2013)

The members of the International Prize Committee for the award year 2014:

Kin-ichi Tadano (chairman)	
Alois Fürstner	Masato Kitamura
Steven Ley	Masasatsu Shibasaki
Barry M. Trost	Junichi Yoshida

## **Call for Nominations for the Award Year 2015** ( Deadline May 1, 2015 )

Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2015 by May 1, 2015.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at *http://www.ssocj.jp/ indexenglish.html*. The documents submitted are retained on file for three award years.



1-5 Kanda-Surugadai, Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan Tel: +81-3-3292-7621 Fax: +81-3-3292-7622 Website: http://www.ssocj.jp/ Preferred method of submittal is by e-mail attachment of the form.

e-mail address: support@ssocj.or.jp

However, submittal by express or conventional mail is also acceptable.



TAKASAGO INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION

Nissay Aroma Square 17F 5-37-1 Kamata, Ota-Ku, Tokyo, 144-8721 Japan Tel:+81-3-5744-0511 Fax: +81-3-5744-0512 Website: http://www.takasago.com